Get Your Hopes Up

I’ve wanted to do this for months, but I’m finally going to start a blog! My family got thrust into the “autism club” when our little beautiful, curly-haired boy was diagnosed with autism this past fall of 2007 at age 2. It’s been about six months since it all began, rather suddenly. Literally, one day life was normal, and the next day it wasn’t. Over a period of about three weeks we saw our son regress into autism, though when we look back we recognized some little signs along the way. Since then, we went on a race to pull him out of autism. Step by step, we are doing everything we can–intensive 4o hr/week therapy at a great school, biomedical treatments with a change in diet and vitamin supplements, and a lot of love, prayer and persistence!

I kept hearing things phrased carefully from health and educational professionals and websites like, “We don’t want to get your hopes up…” when it comes to what the future holds for your kid with autism. The doctors who diagnosed him really didn’t want to say one way or the other what kind of shot he had. They didn’t even give us some good stats to hang our hats on.

 Traditional books from medical doctors and websites all said things like, “Autism is a devastating, lifelong disability that affects communication, socialization, and learning. It has no known cause and no cure.” Wow! There’s a nice big crap sandwich for any parent who had great dreams for their child.

But then I had to go on a hunt to get some hope, and I found resources that said kids were recoverying! Thousands of them! There was hope! I don’t have to just cope with the idea that my son has autism and that’s that. I’m going to hope for him to emerge from it. I’m going to pray for God’s strength to pull us through and put our son over the top. And, if it doesn’t happen, I will have been better for hoping.

This blog will highlight the ups and downs of this journey. I hope it will bring insight to those who know us, information to those whose child has recently been diagnosed (or their family members), and inspiration for the battle. There is hope. Sorrow lasts for a season, but joy comes in the morning.

5 Responses

  1. Juat today I made a post about when I discovered my son’s autism. It is psoted on my blog and called “God’s Mercy & Micah’s Touch” here is the link if your interested.

    http://anuncommongrace.wordpress.com/2008/03/10/gods-mercy-micahs-touch/

  2. Welcome to the bloggy world. Good luck on your journey 🙂

  3. Hang in there – and I hope you enjoy blogging as much as I have!

  4. Welcome to “the club.” We’re quite elite! 😉 I mean that in a humorous way, as we find that laughter is how we get through it. I also mean that as in our children are elite — special — one-of-a-kind blessings. I’m still not at the point where I’ll call it a ‘gift,’ but three years post-diagnosis, and we’re miles from where we were. Our son rarely hand-flaps now…he’s just segued onto other stims..but my point is, things change. Some things improve, others may not. All the books you show, the sites you listed — you’re doing quite a job at researching the new territory! Don’t let it get you down, and visit my blog if you want. Nice to see you in the blog world!

  5. Hi! I am the Grandmother–this has been quite a journey for me, too….so in the midst of seeing all my family is going through with the many adjustments, I have to stop and count the blessings–blessed that my daughter has a husband who faithfully stands by her and their son and has a working counterpart in taking care of each days situation….blessed that both parents do not raise their voices and get disgusted with their little boy when he has his own agenda….blessed that we serve a God who is “more than enough” and He will see us through …… mom

Leave a Reply

