The Colors of ‘Autism’ and Money-Saving ‘Vaccinations’

My eyes have been playing tricks on me, especially this fall when autumn decended on us. I’ll glance at a magazine and see a title with the word “autism” even though the word is “autumn.” It’s happened to me a few times. I guess my radar is up, and with autism in the news more and more, I try to be aware of the reports. Just a few days ago, I got the latest Parenting magazine in the mail, and it had an article about “Vaccines: Fact and Fiction,” which I’ll get back to in a second. Then the Cookie parenting magazine came (we got a bunch of free subscriptions due to unused flier miles) yesterday and there on the cover was another vaccine article! “Money-Saving Vaccinations”! Er, uh, ha… Vacations. Okay, I’m officially too obsessed.

Now, if you’ll humor me with my soapbox… I must vent a little bit. So, I read through the latest Parenting article on “Vaccines: Fact and Fiction,” and my blood began to boil. Just like the past vaccine CDC-skewed propaganda the magazine has put out, this article was so horribly one sided and so boldly tackled the “issues” people are raising about vaccines that apparently are fiction and unfounded, and tempered them with the “there’s nothing to worry about here” FACTS that vaccines do not contribute to autism, and they’re not toxic, and they’re perfectly safe, and the best thing to ever happen to human kind, and don’t be a dope and stop vaccinating your kids or God forbid do an alternate schedule because you will wipe out humanity!!! There have already been 131 cases of the measles this year, after all, by you selfish parents who didn’t get the MMR.

Just a few months ago, actress Amanda Peet stirred up little controversy with her article in Cookie where she said, “Frankly, I feel that parents who don’t vaccinate their children are parasites.” Recently, Parents magazine also had an article about vaccines and said:

Vaccines are extremely safe and are responsible for the eradication of a host of life-threatening diseases that occur in childhood. Still, rare cases of complications make good horror stories and can give even the most rational parent a good case of the jitters. Keep in mind that, for most babies, the benefits of these vaccines far outweigh their risks.

Yeah, okay. For most babies, vaccines may work out just great. But, I would say a lot of parents out there would take issue with the cavalier statements here. The problem is that you don’t know if your baby will be one of the babies who don’t handle vaccines well until it’s too late. It’s a little like playing Russian roulette. I remember having a conversation with a chiropractor friend when Josiah was two months old. He said he didn’t vaccinate his kids because he believed vaccines were not safe. I went home, researched it some, and was especially troubled by the Hep B vaccine–why would my child need that, I wondered. I voiced my concerns to the doctor. She promptly told me all the wonderful things that vaccines have done for humanity and that the risks are so rare. Well, what are the chances that anything bad would happen to us, I thought, and I trusted her.

To this day, I realize that Josiah still may have developed autism whether he had been vaccinated or not, but I have a sense from the research I’ve done, it likely played some kind of role. It certainly didn’t help. There’s no autism in our family. There is some autoimmune stuff. I’m so bummed that I can’t go back and undo what I did. I thought it was the right thing to do. I didn’t think my child would be one of the children to get autism. Who thinks their child will be the one to die from SIDS, develop allergies, asthma, ADHD, childhood diabetes, or an auto-immune disorder–all which have pretty convincing evidence that there’s a link to vaccines, their viruses, or their toxins?

I’m about mid way through a facinating book called What Your Doctor May Not Tell You About Children’s Vaccinations by Stephanie Cave, M.D., and I wish I would have read this balanced approach to the story before I had my baby. I wish I could have been better informed, because so few parents ever get to read about the debate that rages. Instead, the other side gets quickly dismissed. Just once, I would like to see a magazine publish an article that had a DAN! doctor talking about how they are trying to recover kids from what they believe was in some way a vaccine injury and then the counterpoints by the other docs. Let the parents then decide for themselves who to believe and make the best decision for their children.

I’m so concerned with the greed, fear, and cover ups that seem to be keeping the government from trying to find out the real cause of this autism epidemic. What is going on here when perfectly healthy babies are going along normally and then something happens to them so profoundly? In record numbers. Someone must know something. We mommas got to save our kids and demand truth and safe vaccines. I think Jenny McCarthy has it right. I would like to see more doctors stand up and get a voice for their opinions on the matter too. Parents have a right to hear both sides. I hope my gut is wrong on this issue, and vaccines have nothing to do with it. That’s all I have to say about that. Soapbox over. Thanks for bearing with me!

One Response

  1. I’m laughing at the first part of your post. Perseverating on autism, are we? Me too! Although I suspect I’m not as bad as you… yet. But anything that begins with “Au” jumps out at me and my eyes start playing tricks on me!
    Like you, I cannot honestly say for sure that vaccines were the trigger for R’s autism. I do know that she was very sick after getting her 12 mos. and 18 mos. shots. What I don’t appreciate are the doctors who immediatley brush off scores of parents, dismiss their stories and treat them as if they’re ignorant and misinformed.
    Thanks for being brave enough to share your feelings on this!

Leave a Reply

