How Do I Love You…

My darling Josiah, how do I love you. Let me count the ways…

1. I love you for your sweet smile you shine my way at moments both random and intentional. It says to me, “Mom, I choose you.”

2. I love you for the way music moves you, whether it’s real notes or just the blow dryer. Your rhythm makes you step back and forth like a boy at a junior high dance.

3. I love you for your sweet little voice when I make out a familiar tune you hum or the way you say “cookie” or “break-fast.” Please share more words with me. I will treasure each one and drink them in.

4. I love you for the way you enthusiastically lunge into my lap when I sit in your rocking chair and say, “Sing songs?” You know all the words as I stop to let you fill them in. Sing a line for me sometime, son. I’d love a duet.

5. I love your little arms around my neck, as you press in close. It’s okay if you proceed to wrap around my head with your full bendy little body. It hurts a little, but it gives you so much joy.

See the Cullen profiles?

See the Cullen profile? Duck's butt makes an appearance too.

6. I love the way your face profile and your toes look like your Daddy’s.

7. I love your undying loyalty for your stuffed duck, faithful companion, though the tag you stroke calmly  is looking mighty frayed.

8. I love the way you get Michael Jordan-like air when you jump on your bed. Your face shows the thrill of it.

9. I love how you splash in the bath, little body such a miracle. It’s fun to see the two freckles on your back and your hair show off all its curls.

10. I love how you’re a natural-born leader. You may not even know it, but when other kids see what you’re doing, they join right in.

11. I love it when you sit on my lap and stroke my hair with your little hand. So content, like you remember that we were once womb-mates.

12. I love how you look when you sleep, all bunched up like a little hamster. You still have that same angel face as you did when you were just a baby, only bigger.

13. I love how hard you work to play. I pack your lunch box and send you off for a big day of intense stuff for a three-year-old. Still your known around your digs for how happy you are.

14. I love how you make me be a better, more educated mom than I ever thought I could be. I’d just do anything to help you succeed, little one.

15. I love that you are mine. We’re on quite a journey here, but Daddy and I are so proud of you. Who you are. Who you will become. My “Josiah.” My “Fire of the Lord.”

6 Responses

  1. BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Awwww….i have happy tears 🙂

  3. You know and cherish your baby with everything you are – I can feel it in your words. I suspect that one of the reasons he is so happy is because he is so well loved.

  4. Such a sweet sweet boy! I can’t wait to meet him. He is lucky to have you as his mommy!

  5. What a nice list!!

  6. wow how beautiful.
    True mothers words. My son has Aspergers and is 8
    I love reading blogs like yours autism from a parents view.
    I have my own blog about my son. Would love it if u could have a look
    Let me know what you think. aspergersinfo.wordpress.com
    Wonderful blog really enjoy it:)

Leave a Reply

