Studies Show that Autism Studies Contradict Each Other

If you have a child with autism, you likely receive those daily news updates about autism in your email inbox. I used to read them faithfully, but now they just make me crazy. I have never seen such in-fighting, polarized opinions, and opposite study results. There’s one definitive statement to put all other speculation to rest, only to be followed by why that discovery is flawed.

Then, you have your parent testimonials of things that worked for their kids, followed up by “hoax alert” for those same treatments. Then, you see a flurry of passionate growling by comment leavers. Hmm, how do you know what to go with? “Following your gut” has never been more important, but that’s kind of scary when you have your child’s future riding on your decisions. I’ve just decided that God has to lead me and fill in the gap for my ignorance.

Here are some recent contradictory and confounding headlines:

New Study: Autism Linked to Environment

Genes–Not Vaccines–Linked to Autism

Despite Ruling, Vaccine-Autism Debate Won’t Fade

High Testosterone in the Womb Linked to Autism

Autism Linked to Higher Precipitation Levels

Autism Cases on the Rise: Not Just Due to Changes in Diagnosis Criteria

No So-Called Autism Epidemic Just Better Diagnosis

No Evidence that Restrictive Diets are an Effective Autism Treatment

Autism Diets Help Parents Recover Children

I personally like Autism Linked to Parents’ Mental Disorders because even though I don’t think I had any mental problems before all of this, I’m pretty sure it is now making me looney. My, we have to keep a sense of humor about this! The truth is, no one really knows what’s up with autism and every kid is different so it seems that the “answer” is a moving target.

Want to know my opinion? I think there are many paths that may lead to autism. I think for children like mine, there’s a genetic vulnerability that exists. Something starts going on in the gut where good bacteria gives way to populations of bad bacteria, then the immune system starts reacting to environmental assaults, toxins, allergies and vaccines. The brain doesn’t know what to do with those things, and eventually stops working correctly because it’s not getting the nutrients it’s supposed to. But, if we can reverse the chain of events, and provide the proper nourishment to the brain and get the body responding in the way it’s supposed to, a child can be recovered from autistic symptoms. At the same time, behavioral and educational early intervention is needed to form new brain pathways and get a child caught up.

Everybody has a theory. Maybe one day we’ll have some facts we can all agree on. Until then, I’m going with autism is caused by Wi-Fi internet. Uh oh. I better get off the computer now!

No one can comprehend what goes on under the sun. Despite all his efforts to search it out, man cannot discover its meaning. Even if a wise man claims he knows, he cannot really comprehend it. Ecc. 8:17

3 Responses

  1. Wow, listing those stories as you did really does show how far the contradictions go. Just supports a hunch I’ve had for a while: We are clueless, God is all-knowing. Oh, that our faith would not rest in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God. (1 Cor. 2:5). I’m with you, my sister, we have to trust God to show us how to help our children.

    BTW, did you see this one on Age of Autism about the relationship between autism and curvy women? Unbelievable!

  2. I love your sense of humor in this post.
    You defy gravity on a daily basis by trying like mad to get it right…to make some kind of progress, to find that magic combo.
    You ARE and inspiration. I hope you know that.
    I have been reading all the articles, and it drives me mad too. WHY can’t they agree? Why can’t there be SOMETHING that can reverse these things?
    There are times I look at my children and think HOW did me miss that bullet?
    I love that you blame Wi Fi…that made me chuckle.
    Love coming your way.
    Sara

  3. Oh my goodness, rhemashope, that link about curvy women was unbelievable. I know that’s not our case. My husband didn’t end up with an “Olive Oyl” that’s for sure. Ha Ha!

Leave a Reply

