A Poem for Us Moms

My neice, Chayle (14), wrote this poem especially for me and Josiah. It dropped in my email yesterday, and I was amazed at how she captured the heart. She lives 1500 miles away and doesn’t see autism, but I was moved by her images. Her poems are always beyond her years and beyond cliche.

“Autism”

Mom, why are you crying?
How much I wish I could ask you
Wish you knew how much I’m trying
Please, wait for the day of my solitude
Words are taking up capacity in my head
But, I need help to get them out
As soon as I awake and go to bed
I forget all that I learned about
Like a permanent duct tape to my mouth
But, the day will come when its ripped off
As long as you’re around
I know this thing can be stopped
A genius lies within this soul, mom
This is no joke or a perfectly curved prism
I know what happened to me was wrong
I know we will find a cure for this autism

9 Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this. It is indeed a lovely poem by someone so young and so far away.

  2. ‘A genius lies within this soul, mom’

    How did she know?

    Chayle has a beautiful gift.

  3. WOW!! That was amazing, and so profound!! Chayle certainly has a way with words…really captures the heart.
    Just BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  4. What a beautiful poem!!

    “….Wish you knew how much I’m trying” We all know that our little guy is working his ass off. With the help of his wonderful parents and his work ethic, he’ll soon be showing us all his genius.

    Great job Chayle!

    Happy New Year to you all.

  5. This touches the very heart of the matter.

  6. Wow! What a beautiful, insightful poem!

  7. What a wonderful poem! I just found your blog and love it! We are recovering our 5 year old.

  8. so beautifully written, Chayle.

  9. Thank you for sharing. It just excites me for the day to come. When our little one will finally be able to tell us with words how much they loves us.

Leave a Reply

